A green light to greatness.®

The Pulse

2018 BANN winners announced

Congratulations to our Best American Newspaper Narrative winners for 2018 (representing work published in 2017)!

These honorees will be published in the 2019 anthology, Best American Newspaper Narratives, Vol. 6.

First place – “The loneliest polar bear” – Kale Williams – The Oregonian

Second place – “Doomed by delay” – Patricia Callahan – Chicago Tribune

Third place – “Dirty John” – Christopher Goffard – Los Angeles Times

Runner-up – “Twelve seconds of gunfire” – John Woodrow Cox – The Washington Post

2018 contest info updated!

2018 contest information is now online. See details and entry forms for the Best American Newspaper Narratives contest, the Mayborn Fellowship in Biography, the Young Spurs essay contest, the Mayborn's book manuscript contest, and the Ten Spurs contest (which seeks both personal essay and reported narrative entries) on this website.

Deadlines are as follows:

Best American Newspaper Narratives contest – Feb. 1, 2018