Mayborn Fellowship in Biography

The Mayborn Fellowship in Biography offers a two- to three-week workshop in Santa Fe, New Mexico, led by distinguished biographer James McGrath Morris.

The committee selecting a recipient of this fellowship will evaluate applicants based on three criteria:

  • A viable biographical project clearly described (see below for guidelines)
  • Proof that sufficient research has been, or will be completed, before the residency so as to be able to use the time for writing
  • Evidence that the residency could play an important role in the development of the project

Eric Nishimoto
“The privilege and import of being a Mayborn Fellow in Biography is not lost on this fledgling author. To learn the craft and develop my book under the ‘biographers’ biographer’ is the opportunity of a lifetime for which the Mayborn, in so many diverse ways, has prepared me. Santa Fe to write and be mentored by Jamie Morris – wow.”

This fellowship includes the following:

  • Free registration to the 2020 Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference
  • Free registration to the 2021 Biographers International Conference
  • Two to three weeks workshop in Santa Fe with mentoring from James McGrath Morris
  • A reading at the end of your stay
  • $500 to help defray costs

Deadline: April 15, 2020

Notification of award will be made by May 1, 2020. The winner will schedule his/her residency with James McGrath Morris.

To apply for this scholarship:

Download application

  • Fill in all text boxes electronically.
  • Email the completed form and your biography sample in Word or PDF format to with “Mayborn Fellowship in Biography – Your Last Name” in the subject line.

The biography sample needs to include three sample chapters with a chapter-by-chapter synopsis of no more than three pages for each chapter in the proposed book. The entire biography sample needs to be double-spaced.

For more information, please call writing contest coordinator Jo Ann Livingston at 214-403-5853.

Previous Mayborn Fellowship in Biography Winners:

  • Julia Flynn Siler
  • Judith Bula Wise
  • Brian O'Leary
  • Eric Nishimoto
  • Diana Parsell
  • Sarah Perry