A green light to greatness.®


The Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference is a forum for journalists, writers, readers, students, educators and the general public to listen to, be inspired by and practice their craft at the highest possible level.

The Conference was created to enhance the quality of nonfiction writing, encourage innovation, and create a community of factual storytellers who maintain an unflinching faith in the narrative craft.

Every year, the Mayborn Conference gathers some of the most talented storytellers in the country to share their stories, life-changing experiences and expertise with aspiring writers! 

The Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism organized the conference in 2005. George Getschow, writer-in-residence at the University of North Texas, lines up more than 20 of the nation’s top nonfiction writers and editors each year. Getschow, along with Mitch Land, Founding Dean of the Mayborn School of Journalism, created the Mayborn Conference, and they are proud the conference has achieved national prominence. Getschow serves as the conference director and Dorothy Bland serves as the dean of the Mayborn School of Journalism and director of the Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism.